The Sad Story of My Broken Computer

It had to happen. All computers die. But it’s never good news. And my computer died on Saturday.

Well, it didn’t die so much as suffer from a case of senile dementia. The USB ports stopped working reliably, and that meant my network connection became unreliable, not to mention my printer and backup hard drive.

So the “good news” is that I had an excuse to buy a brand new computer — a Gateway with a quad-chip. Very cool. In theory. But this very fast computer runs some software known as “Windows 7” — also known as “We’ve hidden every control where you can’t find it and made your old software not work at all even though you spent 20 hours working on something called “Compatibility Mode” which really means “make-you-buy-all-new-software mode.””

So my trusty, beloved Windows 95 version of Quickverse is dead, dead, dead. And it has my Greek and Hebrew translations. And lots of notes. And, yes, I know the internet has all this stuff, too, but it’s just not as convenient as a program I’ve used nearly daily for 15 years. So, no, I’m not happy about the transition from Windows XP (a great American program) to Windows 7 (probably designed by godless communists). I mean, my goal in life is not to get a Windows program that looks just like a Mac. If I’d wanted a Mac, I’d’ve bought a Mac. My goal in life is for MY SOFTWARE TO WORK. Oh, well.

So in the mean time, I’ve commented here and there from my iPhone and from my wife’s computer (when I didn’t have its WiFi antenna patched to my old computer in a vain effort to tranfer files by network). Fortunately, I usually post a few days ahead, but unfortunately I usually review and revise posts during the days just before they show up. And I’ve not been able to do that because it took two days to move my files from the old to the new computer. I hope I’ve been halfway coherent. If not, it’s Bill Gates’ fault.

And Windows 7 still has the annoying habits of old Windows — like a timer that says “Download will take 27 years” when it will only take 30 seconds. Or vice versa. Mainly vice versa. Fortunately, the fast new computer makes downloading technical support and updated drivers much easier. How’s that for a silver lining?

So now I’m here and typing once again. And I can run iTunes and a back up routine and Outlook all at once and not even notice, whereas my old computer couldn’t run Solitaire and Notepad at once without jamming for three weeks. So that’s cool.

But I miss QuickVerse.

17 Responses

  1. WAAAHHH!!!!!! RIP, Jay’s computer . . . .

  2. dude you had me scared for a second there……

  3. Bummer about QuickVerse> I’ve used it and generally liked, but I’ve been using Libronix, and while it is more complicated to some things that QuickVerse could do easily, it can do a lot of things that my version of QuickVerse couldn’t begin to do.
    I agree that is it nicer having the resources right on the computer. I’m still not sold on the idea of having everything on line.
    Blessing on you as you learn your new machine and software.

  4. Jay, with Windows 7 Professional or Ultimate, you can run a virtual machine instance of XP via “Windows XP Mode”. Since it’s essentially XP, maybe you can install QuickVerse in it without the issues you are having. I think you can even drop an application icon from XP Mode onto your Win 7 desktop to launch the app in XP mode in one quick step. There are also other virtualization options, such as VMware.

    For more info on XP Mode: http://cot.ag/adRqXG
    If you need to upgrade from Windows 7 Home Premium to 7 Professional or Ultimate, visit: http://bit.ly/aupgcM for info

  5. A Gateway? Really? Well, it’s your money. Not what I’d call the most reputable brand these days, though…and I know something about that sausage factory.

    Anyway, there’s a decent chance you can downgrade to XP on the new hardware, if you’ve got an install disk around. Depends on the details, o f course, but enough people still run it that I’d expect video drivers, etc. to be available.

  6. Damon beat me to the punch. You can do it with a virtual machine. I’m running XP under VMWare on several different platforms, and it works great. Basically Windows XP becomes a program you launch under your newer operating system. Then you can install software into Windows XP as needed. Find a good IT person in your congregation and pay him a few bucks to get it working for you.

  7. Jay, time to make the move to Linux! 🙂

  8. get a Mac !!!
    … then your software just runs and you can ignore all the techie stuff

  9. Jay…I feel your pain (to borrow a phrase). I kept the same computer for years because I didn’t want the hassle of trying to get everything to work on the new one. Finally broke down and got a new one when I changed congregations. Problem is, a lot of the stuff on the old computer belonged to the old congregation and I didn’t have the CD’s or the license to reinstall it…so I’m making do. But I feel your pain (oops, there I go again). 🙂

  10. Get a mac!! You’ll be so happy.

  11. I’ve owned six Macs: a Plus, a Centris 660AV, a Performa 450, a Performa 6400, a G3 PowerMac (blue and white), and my current G5 iMac. I sold the first two. I still own the last four. They still work.

    Apple has changed the Mac’s hardward/software architecture three or four times in those 20 years – and I haven’t jumped to the newest Intel-processor architecture yet. I’ve never had difficulty with an upgrade, or getting software upgrades from other providers.

  12. Jay

    Someone put a voodoo hex on you.

    That’s what you guys get for humiliating Texas in the playoffs.

    Actually I’m from Kansas.

    Good typing and many more great posts on your pony express.

    Bob

  13. Can’t you get your sons to pool their money and buy their father the latest version of QuickVerse as an early birthday or Christmas present? 🙂

  14. XRay — NOW you’re talking! It’d sure beat handkerchiefs or socks.

  15. Damon,

    I have Windows Home Premium. I figured, you know, that my computer is at home and “premium” sound like the best — like “premium gas.” Oh, well.

  16. You should write the Quick people and say that a major website would praise them for a update.

  17. Larry,

    Good idea, but was using the Windows 95 version. It’s already been updated several times. I just don’t want to have to buy a brand new program when the old version suited my needs so well. Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

